Spotlight: Paper Flowers

For those of you that don’t know, I’m engaged to be married in September of this year (hooray!). If you’ve been through the wedding planning process, you know just how expensive your flowers can be. You have bouquets for the bridesmaids, boutonnieres for the groomsmen, corsages for the parents, and grandparents, and dozens of arrangements for centerpieces and miscellaneous decor. If you’re operating on a budget like me, a $1000 tab for flowers is just completely unrealistic. Now, I’m not saying it’s not worth it because I absolutely love all kinds of flowers and if I had an unlimited budget, I would put them EVERYWHERE, but unfortunately I do not and unfortunately, I’m juuust pragmatic enough to have a hard time justifying that kind of coin on my flowers.

You may be thinking, “But if I don’t have real flowers, will my wedding look cheap?” The answer is a resounding, “NO!” Well, if you use those gross-looking silk flowers, it probably will. But it doesn’t have to! You’ll just have to do what I did and get a little creative. I spent some time on Pinterest and became Pinspired by all of the paper flowers (yeah, Pinspired is a thing). They have a vintage flare which, if you haven’t guessed by now, is kind of my obsession and you can make them look as realistic or whimsical as you’d like! You can make bouquets by adding a stem, arrange hodge-podge piles of flowers without the stems on tables for centerpieces, add them to cakes and wreaths, put them in jars, have the flower girl use them instead of petals, the list goes on!

Here are some photos of what I’ve done so far. I’ve focused mainly on roses, but I’m going to try my hand at peonies very soon (my favorite flower). They’re fairly easy to make, but if you’re not crafty or not feeling up to making hundreds of these little babies, let me know and I would LOVE to make them for you! I have some for sale at my Etsy shop now, but let’s work out a bulk price! Send me an e-mail at kayla (at) prohibitionandpearls.com. I’m very reasonable. 🙂

Image

 

ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

